Our Senior Leadership Team

Amanda Wheeler

Amanda Wheeler

Director
a.wheeler@competenz.org.nz
"I love the ‘learn while you earn’ concept. It’s hugely valuable for our learners, employers, and New Zealand."
Pip Walsh

Pip Walsh

General Manager - Learning Design & Innovation
p.walsh@competenz.org.nz
"People who have grit and tenacity inspire me. They are people who remind us of what is possible, that we all can do more than we think we can, that we can do hard things, and that we can all make a difference for someone."
Toni Christie

Toni Christie

General Manager - Employer and Learner Services
t.christie@competenz.org.nz
"I am inspired by the difference we make. While you can get caught up with the daily grind, seeing an individual progressing or completing their qualification makes it all worthwhile. This is why I do what I do."

National and regional managers

Talk to us about signing up a new learner and any enquiries on our training programmes.

Greg Stuart

Greg Stuart

National Manager, Apprenticeships
027 550 1425g.stuart@competenz.org.nz
Lyndall Clarke

Lyndall Clarke

National Manager, Traineeships
027 533 8017l.clarke@competenz.org.nz
Christine Ewart

Christine Ewart

National Manager, Forestry
027 700 7471c.ewart@competenz.org.nz
Fiona Horne

Fiona Horne

Regional Apprentice Manager, Northern
027 211 6650f.horne@competenz.org.nz
Amit Kumra

Amit Kumra

Regional Apprentice Manager, Waikato and Bay of Plenty
027 449 9107a.kumra@competenz.org.nz
Steve Brooks

Steve Brooks

Regional Apprentice Manager, Southern
027 281 9828s.brooks@competenz.org.nz
Cliff Stoddart

Cliff Stoddart

Regional Manager, Forestry
c.stoddart@competenz.org.nz
Kevin Withell

Kevin Withell

Specialty Trades Manager
k.withell@competenz.org.nz

Quality support

Talk to us about:

  • New assessor registrations
  • Existing assessor scope extensions
  • Consent to assess applications
  • Forklift trainer registrations
  • Forklift assessor registrations
  • Moderation – pre and post
  • Consistency reviews.

We are responsible for ensuring our learners and the users of our unit standards are achieving consistent and quality outcomes.

Karl Mullan

Karl Mullan

National Moderation Manager, Forestry
027 242 7759 k.mullan@competenz.org.nz
Mike Stevens

Mike Stevens

Quality Support Administration Specialist – Forklift (part-time)
m.stevens@competenz.org.nz
Ian Braithwaite

Ian Braithwaite

Quality Support Administration Specialist – Forklift
i.braithwaite@competenz.org.nz

Careers

Talk to us if you are interested in working with our national careers team, or you are an employer looking to grow your business.

Competenz is like the university of the workplace and our team are dedicated to connecting young Kiwis with on-the-job learning opportunities. Young people are faced with huge choice and our careers team can assist with navigating a pathway as well as helping with skills needed to find employment. We also specialise in Māori and Pasifika career development.

Lisa Reid

Lisa Reid

Acting National Manager, Career Development
l.reid@competenz.org.nz
Amy Nicol

Amy Nicol

Schools Advisor
0220136154a.nicol@competenz.org.nz
Reg Currin

Reg Currin

Trades Careers Advisor
027 474 4665r.currin@competenz.org.nz

Apprenticeships available now

We help good employers hire apprentices. Check out all the apprenticeship jobs we have available around the country.

Jobs available now

Industries we serve

We provide training in 37 sectors across New Zealand from Engineering, Sign making and Printing through to Bakery and Textile manufacture.

View Industries