Our Senior Leadership Team

Tim O'Brien

Tim O'Brien

General Manager
021-827-975t.o'brien@competenz.org.nz
Kate Mooney

Kate Mooney

General Manager - Industry Training
021-827-975k.mooney@competenz.org.nz
Pip Walsh

Pip Walsh

General Manager - Learning Design & Innovation
021-827-975p.walsh@competenz.org.nz
Toni Christie

Toni Christie

General Manager - Employer and Learner Services
021-827-975t.christie@competenz.org.nz
Rob Eden

Rob Eden

General Manager, People and Culture
021-827-975r.eden@competenz.org.nz
David Walding

David Walding

General Manager, Operational Change
021-827-975d.walding@competenz.org.nz

National and regional managers

Talk to us about signing up a new learner and any enquiries on our training programmes.

Greg Stuart

Greg Stuart

National Manager, Apprenticeships
027 550 1425g.stuart@competenz.org.nz
Lyndall Clarke

Lyndall Clarke

National Manager - Workforce Development / Customer & Provider
027 533 8017l.clarke@competenz.org.nz
Christine Ewart

Christine Ewart

National Manager, Forestry
027 700 7471c.ewart@competenz.org.nz
Fiona Horne

Fiona Horne

Regional Apprentice Manager, Northern
027 211 6650f.horne@competenz.org.nz
Adrian Lyne

Adrian Lyne

Regional Apprentice Manager, Central
027 491 0871a.lyne@competenz.org.nz
Amit Kumra

Amit Kumra

Regional Apprentice Manager, Waikato and Bay of Plenty
027 449 9107a.kumra@competenz.org.nz
Steve Brooks

Steve Brooks

Regional Apprentice Manager, Southern
027 281 9828s.brooks@competenz.org.nz
Cliff Stoddart

Cliff Stoddart

Regional Manager, Forestry
c.stoddart@competenz.org.nz
Kevin Withell

Kevin Withell

Specialty Trades Manager
k.withell@competenz.org.nz

Workforce development

Talk to us about supporting your wider workforce development needs. Our Workforce Development team are experts in partnering with customers to understand their needs and developing solutions to meet them.

Debs Wand

Debs Wand

Business Partner, Workforce Development
021 745 584d.wand@competenz.org.nzZ
Richard Marshall

Richard Marshall

Business Partner, Workforce Development
022 012 9682r.marshall@competenz.org.nz
Deborah Law

Deborah Law

Business Partner, Workforce Development
09 539 9800d.law@competenz.org.nz

Quality support

Talk to us about:

  • New assessor registrations
  • Existing assessor scope extensions
  • Consent to assess applications
  • Forklift trainer registrations
  • Forklift assessor registrations
  • Moderation – pre and post
  • Consistency reviews.

We are responsible for ensuring our learners and the users of our unit standards are achieving consistent and quality outcomes.

Karl Mullan

Karl Mullan

National Moderation Manager, Forestry
027 242 7759 k.mullan@competenz.org.nz
Lauren Cannell

Lauren Cannell

Assessor Manager
09 539 9808l.cannell@competenz.org.nz
Mike Stevens

Mike Stevens

Quality Support Administration Specialist – Forklift (part-time)
m.stevens@competenz.org.nz
Ian Braithwaite

Ian Braithwaite

Quality Support Administration Specialist – Forklift
i.braithwaite@competenz.org.nz

Careers

Talk to us if you are interested in working with our national careers team, or you are an employer looking to grow your business.

Our programmes include:

  • Māori and Pasifika career development
  • Gateway programmes
  • Work-ready workshops

Competenz is like the university of the workplace and our national careers team are dedicated to connecting young Kiwis with on-the-job learning opportunities. Young people are faced with huge choice and our careers team can assist with navigating a pathway as well as helping with skills needed to find employment.

Sarah Peldmanis

Sarah Peldmanis

National Manager, Career Development
022 044 6659s.peldmanis@competenz.org.nz
Louise Penprase

Louise Penprase

Recruitment Executive
022 020 4872l.penprase@competenz.org.nz
Reg Currin

Reg Currin

Trades Careers Advisor
027 474 4665r.currin@competenz.org.nz

Apprenticeships available now

We help good employers hire apprentices. Check out all the apprenticeship jobs we have available around the country.

Jobs available now

Industries we serve

We provide training in 37 sectors across New Zealand from Engineering, Sign making and Printing through to Bakery and Textile manufacture.

View Industries